Scuba Diving Certification-Open Water Certification for Scuba Diving Worldwide


When looking for open water certification in scuba diving, you have a choice between several agencies.  They all offer all levels of training for divers and act as a regulatory agency for all dive instructors and operators.  PADI scuba diving certification, (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) is one of the largest because they are recognized around the world.  Others such as SSI, NAUI, BSAC, YMCA and CMAS all offer scuba diver certifications as well.

What’s the Difference?

While all the most recognized agencies offer similar courses and recognize each other’s qualifications, at a recreational level, they may not on a professional level.  You would need the dive certification or open water certification for the area or country you are in or plan to operate in. If you need to verify an agencies credentials for scuba dive certification, you can check with the World Recreational Training Council.

BSAC and CMAS are primarily European, (Britain and Italy, respectively) and are found mainly in locations close to those countries. BSAC, (British Sub Aqua Club) has very high standards of training necessary to achieve dive certification or open water certification.  CMAS is one of the oldest scuba diving certification agencies.  There program is based on star levels, and they are the only agency in the world with that system.

PADI Open Water Certification-Recognized Worldwide:

PADI is the largest and most recognized dive certification agency and more beginning divers are certified by PADI than all the other agencies combined. You can usually find a PADI instructor in any diving destination around the world.  Open Water Certification cards are recognized by all agencies, anywhere.

PADI operates Emergency First Response which also provides CPR and First Aid Training.  They are very active in conservation of marine fish and fauna through Project AWARE.  They are one of the biggest promoters of the scuba diving sport and technical dive training, as well.

PADI Open Water Certification Diver Course:

PADI Open Water Diver course is the world’s most popular scuba course and millions have taken it.  The course will include five pool dives and four dives at local dive sites under supervision of your PADI instructor.  You can even get college credit for the course.

The PADI Open Water Certification course consists of three main phases.  Knowledge development to understand the basics of scuba diving, confined water dives to learn the basic scuba diving skills, and the final phase is actual open water dives. If you have dived at a resort or while on vacation, you may have already earned credit towards your open water certification card.

The learning materials are offered through eLearning, DVD or book.  You normally will read or watch a video on a concept or procedure, then perform the skill in a pool-like environment with your PADI scuba instructor.

In Conclusion:

An Open Water Certification card is honored around the world, and the leading course is the PADI Open Water Diver course.  This course is convenient, since you can do part of the course online and they have instructors at locations all over the world.  You can receive your open water certification from other agencies, just make sure you verify their credentials.

Filed under Scuba Diving Lessons by  #

Comments on Scuba Diving Certification-Open Water Certification for Scuba Diving Worldwide Leave a Comment

Daniel Baktiar @ 5:38 pm #

Comment on this information:
"PADI scuba diving certification, (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) is one of the largest because they are recognized around the world."

It is not true that PADI became the largest because they are recognized, as if other certification organizations (SSI, NAUI, CMAS, BSAC) are less recognized around the world, in fact all organizations that was mentioned are well recognized around the world.

The 'professional' of PADI and 'amateur' of BSAC is in the sense that 'professional' is doing their training and instruction jobs in commercial manner, while 'amateur' is doing their training and instruction jobs for the advancement of the club and diving sports. In no such way 'professional' refers to the higher level of skill and experience than 'amateur'.

Reference to CMAS as mostly in Italy is another mistake. It is French organization, and CMAS certification also done world wide, not limited on French itself. I have Indonesian friends who had certification in Indonesia and it is CMAS certification.

shahriar towfighnia @ 11:47 pm #

thank you for nice and professional website

Leave a Comment